RYA Day Skipper Sail

RYA Sailing > RYA Day Skipper Sail

Overview

Course
Syllabus

RYA Day Skipper is a hands-on course that is highly recommended for anyone who regularly sails on board a yacht. It’s designed to improve skills and build knowledge of all aspects of life at sea whilst skippering a sailing yacht during short passages.

You will spend 5 days navigating and sailing your way across the Solent and Southampton, including some night sailing. Under the watchful eye of your instructor, you’ll practice your skippering skills, ensuring your crew are safe and happy. You will plan and put into practice a variety of different passages, including the execution of pilotage plans skills in to (and out of!) busy rivers, anchorages and marinas. Other key skills include interpreting weather forecasts, engine maintenance, sail handling and sail trim.

Armed with your RYA Skipper qualification, you will boost your confidence to take charge of a sailing yacht and explore beautiful harbours and anchorages. You can also apply for your International Certificate of Competence (ICC) enabling you to charter a sailing yacht during a holiday at home or abroad.
Pre-Course
Experience
5 days, 100 miles, 4 night hours on board a sailing yacht.
Assumed
Knowledge
Knowledge of being on board a boat to Competent Crew level. We also strongly recommend that you do the Day Skipper theory beforehand. This course can be done online or in a classroom and enables you to put chartwork knowledge into practice rather than learning everything whilst afloat.
Student
Instructor Ratio
Maximum 3:1
Duration5 days (3 weekends or 3 days plus 2 days)
Course
Content
  • Preparation for sea
  • Deck work
  • Navigation
  • Pilotage
  • Meteorology
  • Rules of the road
  • Maintenance and repair work
  • Engines
  • Victualling
  • Emergency situations
  • Yacht handling under power
  • Yacht handling under sail
  • Passage making
  • Night cruising
Ability after
Course
On successful completion you will be able to skipper your own yacht or charter yacht. This course also allows you to obtain and International Certificate of Competence, (ICC) the requirement for charter abroad.

What’s Included

When you book a course with Urban Truant we do our best to ensure there are no extra fees – everything you need to complete your course is included:

  • Your own cabin on board a 40 foot yacht
  • All meals and refreshments whilst on board
  • All mooring fees
  • All fuel costs
  • Use of Urban Truant’s quality wet weather gear and safety kit
  • RYA certification for all successful students

At Urban Truant we feel it’s important to provide quality catering and pride ourselves on serving fresh tasty food wherever possible. We are also happy to cater for different dietary requirements upon request.

Course Dates

Below are listed our available dates. If you cannot see dates that you require, please get in touch with us and we may be able to to arrange a more suitable date.

2019 Dates
Monday 25 February
to
Friday 01 March
FULL
£899.00
Friday 01 March
to
Monday 04 March
AVAILABLE
£539.40
Monday 11 March
to
Friday 15 March
1 PLACE LEFT
£899.00
Friday 22 March
to
Sunday 24 March
AVAILABLE
£359.60
Monday 25 March
to
Friday 29 March
1 PLACE LEFT
£899.00
Friday 05 April
to
Sunday 07 April
1 PLACE LEFT
£359.60
Monday 08 April
to
Friday 12 April
AVAILABLE
£899.00
Monday 15 April
to
Friday 19 April
AVAILABLE
£899.00
Friday 19 April
to
Monday 22 April
1 PLACE LEFT
£539.40
Monday 06 May
to
Friday 10 May
AVAILABLE
£899.00
Saturday 11 May
to
Monday 13 May
AVAILABLE
£539.40
Friday 17 May
to
Sunday 19 May
AVAILABLE
£359.60
Monday 20 May
to
Friday 24 May
AVAILABLE
£899.00
Monday 03 June
to
Friday 07 June
FULL
£899.00
Friday 07 June
to
Monday 10 June
AVAILABLE
£539.40
Friday 14 June
to
Sunday 16 June
1 PLACE LEFT
£359.60
Monday 17 June
to
Friday 21 June
AVAILABLE
£899.00
Monday 29 July
to
Friday 02 August
AVAILABLE
£899.00
Monday 19 August
to
Friday 23 August
AVAILABLE
£899.00
Monday 02 September
to
Friday 06 September
AVAILABLE
£899.00
Monday 23 September
to
Friday 27 September
AVAILABLE
£899.00
Monday 07 October
to
Friday 11 October
AVAILABLE
£899.00
Monday 21 October
to
Friday 25 October
AVAILABLE
£899.00

Take advantage of our Combined Learning Packages

RYA Day Skipper Online Theory
RYA Day Skipper Online Theory
RYA Day Skipper Sail
RYA Day Skipper Sail
£1188.99 Combined Price: £1050
RYA Day Skipper Online Theory
RYA Day Skipper Online Theory
RYA Day Skipper Sail
RYA Day Skipper Sail
RYA Short-Range Certificate (SRC) VHF Radio
RYA Short-Range Certificate (SRC) VHF Radio
£1238.98 Combined Price: £1089

Contact Us

Follow us to keep up to date with all our sailing courses and find out about exclusive discounts and competitions.
 Security code